NEWSDAILYNIGERIA: The new United Kingdom, UK Prime Minister Liz Truss, has hit the ground, with the appointment of some key cabinet members.

Prime Minister Liz Truss on Tuesday, 6th of August, 2022 announced some names that will form her Cabinet.

She made this known after she was formally invited by the Queen to form her government, where she announced Therese Coffey as Health Secretary and Deputy Prime Minister.

Kwasi Kwarteng, former business secretary was announced as Chancellor of the Exchequer; James Cleverly as Foreign Secretary. Cleverly is one of Ms Truss’s closest allies and has worked with her in the Foreign Office as a junior minister.

Suella Braverman has also been appointed as Home Secretary; Wendy Morton Wendy Morton, transport minister announced as the first Tory female Chief Whip; Alister Jack reappointed as Scottish Secretary; Brandon Lewis has been appointed as Justice Secretary and Ben Wallace remains as Defence Secretary.

Also announced as Cabinet members are: Nadhim Zahawi as Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Penny Mordaunt, who came third in the Tory leadership race, has been appointed as Leader of the House of Commons.

Alister Jack, according to information will be reappointed as Scottish Secretary; Anne-Marie Trevelyan is expected to be offered the job of Transport Secretary; Jacob Rees-Mogg has been appointed a Business Secretary; Simon Clarke, the former chief secretary to the Treasury, has been appointed as Levelling Up Secretary; Jake Berry has been appointed minister without portfolio, while Alok Sharma retains his role in the Cabinet as President for COP26


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here