Home News New NUJ Chairman, Asma'u Presides Over First Congress

New NUJ Chairman, Asma’u Presides Over First Congress

.. As congress passes vote of no confidence on outgone leadership

….Sets Up Two Committees

By Frederick Peters, KADUNA

NEWSDAILYNIGERIA– The newly elected chairman, Nigeria Union of Journalists, (NUJ) Comrade Asmau Halilu, has presided over her first Congress and the inauguration of two committees, having pass a vote of confidence on the immediate past executives of the council

The congress constituted an ethics and disciplinary committee to be chaired by Veteran Andrew Fadason while the Transition committee is to be headed by Veteran Joseph Edegbo,

This is aimed at facilitating a seamless handing over process by the outgone state executives and further address obvious challenges that greeted the election

In a communique issued by Nicolas Dekera and Awuhe Terfa, Chairman and Secretary respectively, at the end of the emergency general Congress at the NUJ Kaduna state Secretariat on Thursday, 16th December, 2021, the

” Congress in session discussed and resolved as follows:
The outgoing executive committee disregarded the directives of the National Secretariat in all matters regarding the council elections, including inauguration of the new Executives.

” Congress condemned such act and advised that two committees be set up to probe their activities.

” The other is the ethics and Disciplinary committee .Congress in session condemned the outgoing Executives for not welcoming the National Vice President and Secretary Zone A (North West).

” Congress in session condemned the Executives for not handing over stewardship report and other properties of the union in their custody

” For all their misdemeanor, congress passed a vote of no confidence on both the outgoing and the Credential committee stripping them off all rights and privileges.

Congress therefore set up committees as follows.
Ethics and Disciplinary committee are:
Andrew Fadason ________ Chairman
Gabriel Idibia ________ Secretary
Fatima Aliyu ________ member

While members of Transition committee are:
Joseph Edegbo ______ Chairman
Benjamin Auta ______ Member
Dorothy Abiri _______ Secretary

All committees are given 72hours (3 days) duration to do their work” the communique added

" alt="" />


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

“Hon Jonathan Asake( Labor Party Governorship Candidate Kaduna) And The Banality Of Evil” – A REJOINDER

By Gora Albehu Dauda NEWSDAILYNIGERIA: Hon Jonathan Asske was the President of the Southern Kaduna People’s Union (SOKAPU)...

APKMN Slams Lalong Over ‘Unholy’ Comment On Pope Francis

...meets to discuss on actions to take NEWSDAILYNIGERIA: The National President of Papal Knights and Medalists in Nigeria, (APKMN)...

NUJ Set For Democracy Dividend Tour, Begins With Lagos State

NEWSDAILYNIGERIA: The Nigeria Union of Journalists, ( NUJ) has concluded arrangements to embark on its Democracy dividend tours to states across the...

Why We Signed Peace Declaration – Ex-CAN President

By Sunday Isuwa, Abuja NEWSDAILYNIGERIA: The immediate past President of the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) His Eminence, Rev...

Recent Comments